Showing Archived Posts

2012 African Footballer of the Year

Posted November 6th, 2012 at 3:24 pm (UTC-4)
10 comments

The Confederation of African Football, CAF, will hold its annual awards ceremony December 20th in Accra, Ghana. The biggest prize to be handed out in the Ghanaian capital is the African Player of the Year, and if recent history is any indicator, there’s a good chance the trophy will be lifted by a striker. Nine […]

Posted in Uncategorized

Sixteen teams. 28 matches. Three weeks. One winner. Champion of Africa.
 

Follow all the action in the Africa Cup of Nations 2015 with Voice of America. Led by on-the-ground coverage by Abdushakur Aboud from Equatorial Guinea, VOA’s reporters, producers and bloggers will be watching and reporting—here and on-the-air—as the sides look for bragging rights to be called the best in Africa, and look toward World Cup 2018.
 

Sonny Side of Sports will return to this space after February 9.
 

Facebook

Latest Videos

Contact

E-mail
sonny@voanews.com

Telephone
+1.202.205.9942
When you hear the VOA identification press 60

Postal Mail
Voice of America
Room 1613
330 Independence Avenue, SW
Washington, DC 20237
USA

Schedule — All Times UTC

QUALIFYING ROUND

Saturday, Jan. 17 -- Group A
Equatorial Guinea v. Congo 4 p.m.
Burkina Faso v. Gabon 7 p.m.

Sunday, Jan. 18 -- Group B
Zambia v. RD Congo 4 p.m.
Tunisia v. Cape Verde 7 p.m.

Monday, 19 Jan. -- Group C
Ghana v. Senegal 4 p.m.
Algeria v. South Africa 7 p.m.

Tuesday, 20 Jan. -- Group D
Cote d'Ivoire v. Guinea 6 p.m.
Mali v. Cameroon 7 p.m.

Wednesday, 21 Jan. -- Group A
Equatorial Guinea v. Burkina Faso 6 p.m.
Gabon v. Congo 7 p.m.

Thursday, 22 Jan. -- Group B
Zambia v. Tunisia 4 p.m.
Cape Verde v. RD Congo 7 p.m.

Friday, 23 Jan. -- Group C
Ghana v. Algeria 4 p.m.
South Africa v. Senegal 7 p.m.

Saturday, 24 Jan. -- Group D
Cote d'Ivoire v. Mali 4 p.m.
Cameroon v. Guinea 7 p.m.

Sunday, 25 Jan. -- Group A
Congo v. Burkina Faso 6 p.m.
Gabon v. Equatorial Guinea 6 p.m.

Monday, 26 Jan. -- Group B
RD Congo v. Tunisia 6 p.m
Cape Verde v. Zambia 6 p.m.

Tuesday, 27 Jan. -- Group C
South Africa v. Ghana 6 p.m.
Senegal v. Algeria 6 p.m.

Wednesday, 28 Jan. -- Group D
Cameroon v. Cote d'Ivoire 6 p.m.
Guinea v. Mali 6 p.m.

QUARTERFINALS

Saturday, 31 Jan.
1st Group A v. 2nd Group B 4 p.m.
1st Group B v. 2nd Group A 7 p.m.

SEMIFINALS

Wednesday, 4 Feb.
Winner 25 v Winner 28 7 p.m.

FINALS

Sunday, 8 Feb.
Winner 29 v. Winner 30 7 p.m.

Archives