Nobel Prize Chief: No Controversial Winner for 2011

Posted October 6th, 2011 at 7:55 pm (UTC-5)
Leave a comment

Nobel Prize committee chief Thorbjoern Jagland says this year's choice for the Peace Prize will be well-received all over the world.

Jagland tells Norwegian radio and television that it will not be a controversial winner or create a strong reaction by a single country. Last year's choice, jailed Chinese dissident Liu Xiabao, angered China. Beijing unsuccessfully tried to organize a global boycott of the ceremony.

The Nobel Committee will announce the winner of the 2011 peace prize Friday in Oslo. The list of candidates is customarily a closely-guarded secret, but the peace prize has a history of controversial winners as well as a controversial founder.

Alfred Nobel was the inventor of dynamite. Many saw the product that he believed would end all wars as extremely deadly. Not wanting to be known as a merchant of death, he established the famous awards to recognize excellence in medicine, physics, chemistry, literature, and economics, as well as the highly coveted Nobel Peace Prize.

Past winners include U.S. President Barack Obama in 2009, former Vice President Al Gore in 2007 and former President Jimmy Carter in 2002. The 2001 prize was split between the United Nations and then Secretary-General Kofi Annan.