Tunisian Leaders Announce Power-Sharing Agreement

Posted November 21st, 2011 at 8:10 pm (UTC-5)
Leave a comment

Tunisia's three main political parties forming the country's new ruling coalition on Monday announced a power-sharing agreement for the top three state posts.

Under the agreement, Hamadi Jebali from the Islamist Ennahda party which received the most votes in last month's parliamentary elections, will hold the post of prime minister.

The head of the leftist Congress for the Republic Party, Moncef Marzouki, will become new president and Ettakatol's Mustafa Ben Jafaar will be speaker of the assembly which has the task of drafting a new constitution.

Tunisia's landmark elections were widely considered free and fair. The vote came nine months after Tunisians overthrew former president Zine el Abidine Ben Ali.

The revolt ignited a wave of pro-democracy protests across the region known as the “Arab Spring.”

The Ennahda party took 90 of 217 assembly seats in last month's polls – three times the number won by its nearest rival. Its leader, Rachid Ghannouchi, said his party would work to form a new government in “friendliness” and “brotherhood.”

The center-left Congress for the Republic, a secular party, placed second with 30 seats, while the Democratic Forum for Labor and Liberties — or Ettakatol — came in third with 21 seats.