A Look at the Arab League

Posted January 31st, 2012 at 12:05 pm (UTC-5)
Leave a comment

-The League of Arab States, or Arab League, is an association of 22 Arab states, based in Cairo.

-It was founded on March 22, 1945 in Cairo, with the aim of strengthening the relationships between member states through political, cultural and economic cooperation.

-The first six members of the organization were Egypt, Iraq, Transjordan (later renamed Jordan), Lebanon, Saudi Arabia and Syria. Yemen joined a few months later.

-Nabil Elaraby was elected secretary-general of the Arab League in May 2011.

-Syria's membership was suspended in November 2011, following bloodshed caused by brutal government crackdowns on pro-democracy protests.

-On Jan. 22, 2012, the Arab League proposed to Syria that President Bashar al-Assad should transfer power to a deputy and form a national unity government within two months. The plan was rejected by Syria.