Dylan, Glenn, Albright to Receive Presidential Medal of Freedom

Posted April 26th, 2012 at 5:20 pm (UTC-5)
Leave a comment

A folk song legend, a pioneering astronaut, and a former U.S. secretary of state are three of the 13 recipients of this year's Presidential Medal of Freedom.

The medal is the highest civilian honor, presented to those who have made lasting contributions to America's national interest, world peace and culture.

This year's winners include Bob Dylan, one of the most honored musicians and songwriters of all time; John Glenn, a former U.S. senator and the first American to orbit the Earth; and former U.S. Secretary of State Madeleine Albright, who helped bring peace and stability to the Balkans.

President Barack Obama will award the medals at a White House ceremony later this year.

The other 10 recipients are:

John Doar, assistant attorney general for civil rights in the 1960s.

William Foege, a scientist whose work led to the eradication of smallpox in the 1970s.

Gordon Hirabayashi, a college student who chose prison over the forced relocation to a Japanese-American internment camp in World War Two. He died in January.

Dolores Huerta, co-founder of the United Farm Workers of America union.

Jan Karski, a Polish underground officer who was among the first to alert the West of the Nazi Holocaust of Jews in World War Two. He died in 2000.

Juliette Gordon Low, founder of the Girl Scouts of America in 1912. She died in 1927.

Toni Morrison, Pulitzer Prize and Nobel Prize-winning African American writer.

Shimon Peres, president of Israel and Nobel Peace Prize winner.

John Paul Stevens, former U.S. Supreme Court justice.

Pat Summitt, winningest college basketball coach in history, former coach of University of Tennessee women's team.