Indian Lawmakers Vote to Elect New President

Posted July 19th, 2012 at 3:25 am (UTC-5)
Leave a comment

Indian lawmakers are voting Thursday to elect a new president, with former Finance Minister Pranab Mukherjee an apparent lock to take over the mainly ceremonial post.

Nearly 5,000 members of parliament and assembly members are casting ballots in national and state capitals to elect India's 13th president.

Mukherjee, a member of the ruling United Progressive Alliance, has far more support than his rival, the opposition-backed Purno Sangma.

The outcome will be announced on Sunday, three days before the five-year tenure of President Pratibha Patil ends.

Ms. Patil is the first woman to hold the post.