Nobel Physics Prize Awarded to Frenchman, American

Posted October 9th, 2012 at 6:25 am (UTC-5)
Leave a comment

The 2012 Nobel Prize in physics has been awarded to American David Wineland and Frenchman Serge Haroche.

The winners of the prestigious prize were announced Tuesday in Stockholm, Sweden.

The two physicists won for their groundbreaking work in quantum physics, particularly quantum optics, which deals in the capturing and manipulation of light particles.

The Nobel Physics Prize winners worked independently. Haroche is a professor at the College de France while Wineland is currently at the University of Colorado Boulder.

The Nobel prize for chemistry will be announced on Wednesday, literature on Thursday, and the prestigious Peace Prize on Friday.

The Nobel Memorial Prize in economic sciences will be announced on October 15.

This year's laureates will receive their prizes in Stockholm in December.